Monte Bello Veteran

Mr N.R. Batley writes:

“I served on HMS Narvik for the Monte Bello Islands tests the only protection we had was a piece of negative film in a flat badge type holder that we pinned on to our clothes by means of a safety pin that was allways coming lose and being lost the badge that is. At no time did we have any medical check ups or questions as to how we felt. I have a photo that would show how close to the bombs being tested we were with the only safeguard roll your sleeves down and turn your collar up on our no8 shirts. If required I would give evidence but be quick I have cancer heart trouble.”

3 Responses to “Monte Bello Veteran”

  1. A sailor’s testimony on Monte Bello nuclear bomb tests « nuclear-news Says:

    [...] A sailor’s testimony on Monte Bello nuclear bomb tests Monte Bello Veteran « Paul Langley’s Nuclear History Blog,  By  Mr N.R. Batley , 30 Nov 10, “I served on HMS Narvik for the Monte Bello Islands tests the only protection we had was a piece of negative film in a flat badge type holder that we pinned on to our clothes by means of a safety pin that was allways coming lose and being lost the badge that is. At no time did we have any medical check ups or questions as to how we felt. I have a photo that would show how close to the bombs being tested we were with the only safeguard roll your sleeves down and turn your collar up on our no8 shirts. If required I would give evidence but be quick I have cancer heart trouble.” Monte Bello Veteran « Paul Langley’s Nuclear History Blog [...]

  2. Witness to Monte Bello nuclear tests – a sailor’s story « Antinuclear Says:

    [...] Witness to Monte Bello nuclear tests – a sailor’s story Monte Bello Veteran « Paul Langley’s Nuclear History Blog,  By  Mr N.R. Batley , 30 Nov 10, “I served on HMS Narvik for the Monte Bello Islands tests the only protection we had was a piece of negative film in a flat badge type holder that we pinned on to our clothes by means of a safety pin that was allways coming lose and being lost the badge that is. At no time did we have any medical check ups or questions as to how we felt. I have a photo that would show how close to the bombs being tested we were with the only safeguard roll your sleeves down and turn your collar up on our no8 shirts. If required I would give evidence but be quick I have cancer heart trouble.” Monte Bello Veteran « Paul Langl [...]

  3. mark Says:

    Hi Paul,

    I’m trying to find information about my grandfather Gordon Cannon. He may have served with you on HMS Narvik??

    Kind Regards,
    Mark Cannon

Comments are closed.


