The with holding of evidence -Dave Whyte.

From: “Dave Whyte” <dave.whyte@blueyonder.co.uk

Hello Paul,

Many thanks for your e-mail. I doubt if we will ever be permitted to have a cytogenetic blood analysis carried out as the Authorities know what the results would be. Everything they do has a delaying action in the hope we will all be dead before they are forced to admit the truth. What irks me, is the fact all Servicemen were loyal to Queen and Country but loyalty has not been reciprocated by our respective Government's.

It was the Ministry of Defence that kept informing me I should put in for a War Pension if I considered my medical problems were caused by nuclear testing. When I did apply they acknowledged my stomach problems were caused due to service and awarded me a 0% pension: They also admitted the Lymphadenopathy and again awarded a 0% pension; For my claim of infertility and other ailments I was informed I did not receive sufficient radiation to cause my ailments.

I have now added Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) citing the stress involved in attempting to obtain information on the levels of radiation received including the fact that It took the Ministry of Defence over five years to supply me with information on the levels of radiation at ground zero after Pennant and Burgee after denying it existed. They are still refusing to divulge the levels of 'Beta' radiation at ground zero after detonation of the bombs, or the radiation levels at our living quarters in the forward area.

There were around 200 of us living at 'B' site (I have attached a map) which was situated 3 miles from the atomic bomb ground zero and 6 miles from the point of detonation of the hydrogen bombs Flagpole and Halliard. I saw members of the AWRE regularly checking the area for radiation (they were wearing protective clothing at the early stages). My attempts have failed to get a copy of the logs showing the levels of radiation. I should add, we were never given protective clothing or respirators we went around in shorts and flip-flops.

I believe this was the forerunner to Operation Lighthouse which was cancelled due to the moratorium. The tests were held in quick succession as proposed for Lighthouse: Pennant atomic bomb 22 August, Flagpole hydrogen bomb 2 September, Halliard hydrogen bomb 11 September and Burgee atomic bomb 23 September 1958. I have proof that the forward area was radioactive for nine days after Pennant and six days after Burgee. The authorities are denying there was any radiation in the forward area after the two hydrogen bombs!

I have attached a photograph showing the condition of our living quarters after Pennant. It is only now I realise there must have been radioactive particles blown into our bedding and other belongings which we could have inhaled or ingested whilst sleeping.

I hope some of this may be of interest.

All the best

Dave

5 Responses to “The with holding of evidence -Dave Whyte.”

  1. CaptD Says:

    Paul, when it comes to Nuclear History all of this info is very important not just interesting!

  2. Christina MacPherson Says:

    Good on yer, CaptD. This is exactly the sort of primary historical evidence that the UK and Australian authorities want us not to see.

  3. A UK soldier recalls radiation exposure in Christmas Island nuclear bomb tests « Antinuclear Says:

    […] with holding of evidence -Dave Whyte.  https://nuclearhistory.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/the-with-holding-of-evidence-dave-whyte/      <dave.whyte@blueyonder.co.uk  I doubt if we will ever be permitted to have a […]

  4. A soldier’s testimony of radiation exposure from Pacific atomic bomb testing « Nuclear Australia Says:

    […] with holding of evidence -Dave Whyte. https://nuclearhistory.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/the-with-holding-of-evidence-dave-whyte/      <dave.whyte@blueyonder.co.uk  I doubt if we will ever be permitted to have a […]

  5. First hand witness of radiation to soldiers in Pacific atomic bomb tests « nuclear-news Says:

    […] with holding of evidence -Dave Whyte. https://nuclearhistory.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/the-with-holding-of-evidence-dave-whyte/      <dave.whyte@blueyonder.co.uk  I doubt if we will ever be permitted to have a […]

Comments are closed.


