Nuclear Veterans. A message from Dave Whyte.

Hello Paul,

Further to your recent excellent articles on compensation and pensions for the nuclear Veterans we have an organisation in the United Kingdom called the SPVA: ‘Service Personnel and Veterans Agency.’

This group was initiated to look after the interests and well-being of Serving Men and Women and Service Veterans. It is this group that look after pensions and compensation. When they told me a few years ago I should apply for a ‘War Pension’ I thought they were attempting to look after my welfare. I followed their advice and applied: They accepted my stomach problems and Lymphadenopathy as being attributed to my service at Christmas Island and awarded me a ‘GENEROUS’ pension of 0%. They did not accept my claims for sterility, loss of teeth,diverticulitis and genetic damage on the grounds I did not receive sufficient radiation to cause them. I am told I received a maximum radiation dose of 2.6mSv during my tour of duty in 1958 which included two atomic and three hydrogen bombs being detonated.

We are assured by the Ministry of defence that meticulous care was taken during the nuclear tests: This must be a lie: They allege my radiation film badges were not returned, they failed to record the levels recorded on my QFE dosimeters, they cannot find the blood count results taken after the tests, (the one taken prior to the tests is available). Add to this: 18 months after leaving Christmas Island I was admitted to the Royal Air Force Hospital in Aden suffering from lumps up my groin and underwent many different tests (I believe related to my tour at Christmas Island) during the 24 days I was there. This culminated with a biopsy of a lymph node from my right elbow which was sent away for analysis. The result of the biopsy has never been revealed to me, or entered into my service records. It is alleged the hospital records, with the results of all the tests, cannot be found.

They have told me I only received 2.6 mSv but my QFE dosimeter was reading 5 Roentgens per hours after both Pennant and Burgee atomic bombs. I worked at ground zero picking up the radioactive debris for 2.5 hours after each bomb. This made a total of 5 hours work and an accumulated dose of 25 Roentgens = 250 mSv. Almost 100 times the accumulated dose quoted by the Ministry of Defence.

This radiation dose is only the tip of the proverbial ‘Ice-Berg’: I was living in the forward area for three months while two atomic and two hydrogen tests were conducted. I lived three miles from the Atomic bomb Ground zero and approx eight miles from the hydrogen bomb ground zero. I have proof the forward area was radioactive for 9 days after Pennant and 6 days after Burgee but the Ministry of Defence are refusing to reveal the level of radiation that was present. They are also refusing to reveal how long the area was radioactive after the two hydrogen bombs Flagpole and Halliard.

I am waiting on my War Pension appeal to be heard and have been notified by the SPVA, the organisation looking after our interests and well-being, that I am sending in too much evidence to prove my case. I have attached a copy of the E-mail from the SPVA and my reply, it appears the SPVA are considering themselves both judge and jury when it comes to claims.

I hope you may find this article worthy of note in you excellent column.

All the best

Dave

I have even more evidence to forward to them in due course.

PART OF AN EMAIL TO DAVE WHYTE FROM THE BRITISH MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (COMPLAINING THAT DAVE IS SENDING EVIDENCE RE HIS CLAIM TO THE APPROPRIATE BODY) :

SPVA, Monday, 22 April 2013 9:43 PM, to Dave Whyte.
“The recent evidence you have sent to the SPVA consists of 96 pages plus another 6 pages received recently. As you are sending such a lot of evidence to us, I have asked the Tribunal for a Direction. Either myself or the Tribunal will therefore advise accordingly in due course on this matter. Mrs.B.Garbett

“This document is strictly confidential and is intended only for use by the addressee. If you are not the intended
recipient, any disclosure, copying distribution or other action taken in reliance of the information contained in this e-mail is strictly prohibited. Any views expressed by the sender of this message are not necessarily those of the Ministry of Defence. If you have received this transmission in error, please use the reply function to tell us and then permanently delete what you have received. ”

This e-mail was scanned for viruses by the Department for Work & Pensions anti-virus services and on leaving the department was found to be virus free. Please note: Incoming and Outgoing e-mail messages are routinely monitored for compliance with our policy on the use of electronic communications.
************************************************************
This document is strictly confidential and is intended only for use by the addressee.

If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution or other action taken in reliance of the information contained in this e-mail is strictly prohibited.

Any views expressed by the sender of this message are not necessarily those of the Ministry of Defence.

If you have received this transmission in error, please use the reply function to tell us and then permanently delete what you have received.

This email was scanned for viruses by the Ministry of Defence anti-virus services and on leaving the department was found to be virus free.

Please note: Incoming and outgoing e-mail messages are routinely monitored for compliance

with our policy on the use of electronic communications.

************************************************************
END QUOTE.

Paul’s note: Dear MOD, no, nuclear veteran Mr Whyte wants the world to know, so sorry. Also please advise by whose command I should suppress this information. Please advise why I should not consider your attempted dictate to be in violation of the UN Charter of Human Rights, which directs that you allow free transmission of information across frontiers. signed Paul Langley, RAEME, Radiac, retired.

Dave replies to the MOD:

Dear Mrs Garbett,

Thank you for your letter dated 30 April 2013, the contents of which I find extraordinary.

We live in the United Kingdom, not Russia or China. There are no limits placed on the levels of evidence one is permitted to present in order to prove their case in a democratic Country. Comments such as these from an organisation supposedly set up to promote the interests of Veterans is not particularly helpful.

Perhaps you should count the number of pages supplied, by the SPVA, for the defence of the Ministry of Defence in this case. Around 500 to 600 pages.

I am quite happy to wait for the court to supply a date for the hearing as I intend to fight this case on a level playing field. Any delay gives me an opportunity of discovering further incriminating evidence to add to my existing bundle.

When the SPVA denied me my rightful pension for Army Service, then suggested I should apply for a War pension I thought they were attempting to be helpful. It appears I was mistaken.

Yours sincerely

David Whyte

Paul’s note:

Jesus Dave, incredible, they spend 50 years preventing you from gaining access to the evidence, they fail in court to continue to block access, give the evidence to you and now try to block the possibility that natural justice be applied to the evidence relevant to your situation, which you are suppressing. And they threaten you and any other publisher from repeating their dictates re the editing of your evidence. They try mighty hard to create an incomplete and censored record for history don’t they?

I am sure you have considered telling theem to fuck off Dave. Best to hold fire till the whites of their eyes turn red in the hearing.

They are minding more than pounds sterling with their dictatorial gate keeping. They are covering up crimes including deaths at the time in Australia. Military and civilian. They are covering up stolen medical records and dose reports. Its a deep black hole they don’t want any light shone down.

Best regards, Paul.


